Girls Volleyball » Girls Volleyball 2019

Girls Volleyball 2019

Back-To- Back-to-Back-to-Back-to-Back
 Whitney League Champions


The Lady Hawks completed an undefeated season by defeating the Wilson Warriors of Exeter in the finals of the 2019 Whitney League Championships.

To get to the finals, the Hawks beat Summit Charter 2 games to zero, with an all-around team effort that was led by the hitting of Danni Russell and Neah Mendoze, the passing of Bryton Loflin, and the setting of Aleena Medrano and Alisha Verdejo.  In the match, Tatiana Quinones served an amazing 18 points in a row!  Sequoia rallied to beat Summit Charter and to compete against Wilson Middle School in the finals.

Sequoia played a back and forth game with Wilson, but the hitting of Neah Mendoza and Danni Russell was too strong and the Hawks won game one 25-16.  Haiden Arbelo did an excellent job patrolling the net and converting blocks into Sequoia points.

However, in game 2, the Hawks fell behind and unforced errors and missed serves let the Warriors of Wilson take game two by a large margin

Sequoia took the loss of game 2 in stride as Alisha, Bryton, and Neah gathered the players for a talk, saying, “We lost the game.  It’s over.  Let it go.”

The talk worked and Sequoia came out read for game three.  Aleena Medrano and Tatiana Quinoes sever to give Sequoia an early lead, and after several blocks by Danni Russell and Haiden Arbelo, the Hawks found themselves winning 14-6 and serving for match point.  Neah Mendoza, with great confidence and determination, served between two Wilson players for an ace and the Sequoia players rushed onto the court celebrating another Championship. 

Overall, the Lady Hawks should be proud of the way they competed all season long.  Players like Hannah Adney, Allison Daguman, Grace Clower, and Madelyn Kelly didn’t get to play as much as they would have liked, but they pushed the other players to be better, and that is what being a TEAM is all about! Coach Haas and Coach Cha are extremely proud of this year’s Whitney League Champions.